Privacy Policy

Last Modified: October 7, 2016

Timebomb is a fast and fun way to share experiences with your friends and the world around you. You can send a photo, video, or GIF Timebomb to friends or your followers.

When you use these services—and any others we at Timebomb roll out, whether in the Timebomb app or elsewhere—you'll share some information with us. We get that that can affect your privacy. So we want to be upfront about the information we collect, how we use it, whom we share it with, and the choices we give you to control, access, and update your information.

That's why we've written this Privacy Policy. And it's why we've tried to write it in a way that's blissfully free of the legalese that often clouds these documents. Of course, if you still have questions about anything in our Privacy Policy, just contact us. One final point before we dive in: We're happy to report that we participate in the EU-U.S. Privacy Shield, which you can read more about here.

Information We Collect

There are three basic categories of information we collect:

Here's a little more detail on each of these categories.

Information You Choose to Give Us

When you interact with our services, we collect the information that you choose to share with us. For example, most of our services require you to set up a basic Timebomb account, so we need to collect a few important details about you, such as: a unique username you'd like to go by, a password, an email address, a phone number, and your date of birth. To make it easier for others to find you, we may also ask you to provide us with some additional information that will be publicly visible on our services, such as profile pictures, a name, or other useful identifying information. Other services, such as commerce products, may also require you to provide us with a debit or credit card number and its associated account information.

Of course, you'll also provide us whatever information you send through the services, such as Timebombs and chats to your friends. Keep in mind that the users you send Timebombs, chats, and any other content to can always save that content or copy it outside the app. So, the same common sense that applies to the Internet at large applies to Timebomb as well: Don't send messages or share content that you wouldn't want someone to save or share.

It probably goes without saying, but we'll say it anyway: When you contact Timebomb Support or communicate with us in any other way, we'll collect whatever information you volunteer.

Information We Get When You Use Our Services

When you use our services, we collect information about which of those services you've used and how you've used them. We might know, for instance, that you watched a particular Broadcast, saw a specific ad for a certain period of time, and sent a few Timebombs to friends. Here's a more detailed explanation of the types of information we collect when you use our services (to learn about how you can control some of this information, be sure to read the aptly titled Control over Your Information section below):

Information We Collect from Third Parties

We may collect information that other users provide about you when they use our services. For example, if another user allows us to collect information from their device phonebook—and you're one of that user's contacts—we may combine the information we collect from that user's phonebook with other information we have collected about you. We may also obtain information from other companies that are owned or operated by us, or any other third-party sources, and combine that with the information we collect through our services.

How We Use Information

What do we do with the information we collect? The short answer is: Provide you with an amazing set of products and services that we relentlessly improve. Here are some of the ways we do that:

We may also store some information locally on your device. For example, we may store information as local cache so that you can open the app and view content faster.

How We Share Information

We may share information about you in the following ways:

Information You Choose to Share with Third Parties

The services may also contain third-party links and search results, include third-party integrations, or offer a co-branded or third-party-branded service. By going to those links, using the third-party integration, or using a co-branded or third-party-branded service, you may be providing information (including personal information) directly to the third party, us, or both. You acknowledge and agree that we are not responsible for how those third parties collect or use your information. As always, we encourage you to review the privacy policies of every third-party website or service that you visit or use, including those third parties you interact with through our services.

How Long We Keep Your Content

Timebomb lets you capture... On our end, that means that we automatically delete the content of your Timebomb (the photo and video messages that you send your friends) from our servers after we detect that a Timebomb has been opened by all recipients or has expired. But remember: There are various ways Timebomb can save your content and also upload it to Timebomb (like as an attachment in Timebomb). We go into more detail below about how users can save Timebomb content.

Outside of Timebomb, the rest of our services may use content for longer periods of time, which means those services may follow different deletion protocols. For example, if you submit content to one of our inherently public features, such as Broadcast, we may retain the content indefinitely. If you have any questions about how a feature works you can just pop on over to our Support Site.

Finally—and this is important—you should understand that users who see the content you provide can always save it using any number of techniques: screenshots, in-app functionality, or any other image-capture technology. It's also possible, as with any digital information, that someone might be able to access messages forensically or find them in a device's temporary storage. Keep in mind that, while our systems are designed to carry out our deletion practices automatically, we cannot promise that deletion will occur within a specific timeframe. And we may need to suspend those deletion practices if we receive valid legal process asking us to preserve content or if we receive reports of abuse or other Terms of Service violations. Finally, we may also retain certain information in backup for a limited period of time or as required by law.

Control over Your Information

We want you to be in control of your information, so we provide you with the following tools.

Analytics and Advertising Services Provided by Others

We may let other companies use cookies, web beacons, and similar tracking technologies on the services. These companies may collect information about how you use the services and other websites and online services over time and across different services. This information may be used to, among other things, analyze and track data, determine the popularity of certain content, and better understand your online activity.

Additionally, some companies may use information collected on our services to deliver targeted advertisements on behalf of us or other companies, including on third-party websites and apps.

Users Outside the United States

Although we welcome users from all over the world, keep in mind that no matter where you live or where you happen to use our services, your information may be shared within the Timebomb family of companies. This means that we may collect your personal information from, transfer it to, and store and process it in the United States and other countries outside of where you live.

Children

Our services are not intended for—and we don't direct them to—anyone under 13. And that's why we do not knowingly collect personal information from anyone under 13.

Revisions to the Privacy Policy

We may change this Privacy Policy from time to time. But when we do, we'll let you know one way or another. Sometimes, we'll let you know by revising the date at the top of the Privacy Policy that's available on our website and mobile application. Other times, we may provide you with additional notice (such as adding a statement to our websites' homepages or providing you with an in-app notification).